item examining

All your questions answered.
morgurth

item examining

Post by morgurth » Sun 13.04.2003, 12:14

hi, I'm new to MAngband, but not to the rougelike genre. I've played ADOM,  Nethack and few others, but mostly adom. I've chosen MAng because of multiplayer. As for my question, there it is (disclaimer: I read help and went through few other documents, but couldn't find the answer or maybe I missed it)
In key commands there is clearly stated " I-observe an item", this is what I've been looking for actually, so I press 'I' and what do I get? "Press '?' for help"... well, is there some way to exam items?

I use version 0.70 of client and server.

--
morg

Berendol
Evil Iggy

Re: item examining

Post by Berendol » Sun 13.04.2003, 16:35

Sadly, the I command is not implemented in MAngband. You'll have to read a scroll of *IDENTIFY* every time you want to see what your equipment gives you. Those are around $5,000 at the Black Market. Most equipment doesn't have special powers, so save your money for when you find something really good. We don't have any kind of nice object descriptions in MAngband anyways, so if you really want them go look at ToME's object files or something. Or wait for some lazy coder to be motivated to add support, and someone else to write descriptions. There was a Japanese MAngband that had the I command, but it didn't work with our server and the whole thing was in Japanese.

A good way to keep track of things is to inscribe your equipment with abbreviations for the random extra powers. (Some rare kinds of equipment are guaranteed to have a few specific powers in the first place, and a randomly-selected power.) For starters...
FA - Free Action (Resist Paralysis)
HL - Hold Life (Resist life drain)
RG - Regen [Makes you regenerate HP & MP faster, at the cost of faster digestion]
SI - See Invisible