maybe silly questions.

All your questions answered.
binMonkey
Squint-Eyed Rogue

maybe silly questions.

Post by binMonkey » Fri 11.05.2007, 22:57

hi.  i'm a newbie at this.  i love nethack/crawl/etc and am jazzed about playing online.  but first some questions:

why didn't i have to compile mangband?  i use ubuntu and it took me forever to figure out that i just had to click mangclient.

when i start the game should on of the windows read angband?

should i stick all the files in a file called /usr/games/manband maybe?

and, can i get rid of the server files to save on space?

thanks,

rich

Berendol
Evil Iggy

Re: maybe silly questions.

Post by Berendol » Sun 13.05.2007, 22:05

[quote author=binMonkey link=board=newbies;num=1178942231;start=0#0 date=05/11/07 at 22:57:11]hi.  i'm a newbie at this.  i love nethack/crawl/etc and am jazzed about playing online.  but first some questions:

why didn't i have to compile mangband?  i use ubuntu and it took me forever to figure out that i just had to click mangclient.

when i start the game should on of the windows read angband?

should i stick all the files in a file called /usr/games/manband maybe?

and, can i get rid of the server files to save on space?

thanks,

rich[/quote]

You downloaded a binary distribution, which makes things easier. You *could* compile it if you want, but since it already works... I'd suggest playing for a while before you toy with that.

Regarding the window titles... Maybe? I don't pay much attention to the window titles.

You can put the game wherever you want, as long as you and whatever other users have access to it.